top of page
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
Search

3rd Day at Art Porters Gallery



As usual, my day began at 10:30 AM on the 30th of March, 2021. This time, Melvin and Rachel were working at the gallery. Since it was a weekday (Tuesday), Melvin said there would be maybe 1 or 2 visitors all day. This suited me fine because Sunday’s crowd of visitors had left me a little tired towards the end of the day.


I decided to make use of the day ahead of me by catching up on this blog as well as working on my social media posts. Rachel and I discussed the posts and we agreed upon needing to retake and re-edit some images, change the font for the text analyses, align the text to the center of the picture and generally make both the text and images more cohesive and uniform.



Rachel showed me a website called Canva that allowed me to edit Instagram stories and posts on the computer. She logged me into Art Porter’s account so I could easily work on the posts. Canva’s user face made it very easy for me to make the required changes.


When Guillueme came to the gallery in the afternoon, he was pleased with my writing and asked me to make some minor changes by changing some of the words from American English to British English (since Chloe is a British Israeli artist).




Once the posts were ready, Rachel and I crafted specific hash-tags that were relevant to both the gallery, the artist and the subject matter. In the caption, we provided the information of the works such as the title, year and dimensions. In the caption, I also invited the viewers of the post to visit the gallery and view the works for themselves to see whether they could pick out any other interesting details.


Melvin mentioned that there would be a board meeting at around 2PM. I helped him set up a makeshift conference table in Gallery no.3 so that the meeting could commence with little interruption.


During my lunch break, I was grateful to be able to stretch my legs so I decided to go for a walk around the neighborhood in search of a quiet place to spend the hour.



I found a lovely little grassy area on a small hillock down the street from the gallery. I walked up the winding slope and sat beside a tree and felt much calmer in nature.


I returned early from my lunch break and worked on my school work that was due on Wednesday, since I had some time to kill after having completed the social media work. A couple of visitors walked in and out but no one stayed for too long or went to the other gallery rooms. Rachel and I mostly had the space to ourselves so we casually chatted about our tastes in music and even played some of our favorite songs on the gallery stereo!


I realized that weekdays are usually when the gallery staff catch up on their work and do the back-end administrative work, email clients, attend meetings and edit pictures for their social media.


Another day came to an end and I packed up at around 7 PM and took the bus home, looking forward to my last day at Art Porters gallery on Saturday.


bottom of page